If You Like Fantasy Thrillers Like Sai Tamhankar’s Raakshas, You’ll Love These 7 Novels

From Game of Thrones, to Hunger Games, here's a list of books that must read if you're a fantasy buff. Details inside!

1. Game of Thrones

A Still Of Game Of Thrones Novel
Source: Twitter

Raakshas starring Sai Tamhankar, Sharad Kelkar and Rujuta Deshpande, tell the story of a documentary filmmaker Avinash (Sharad) who goes missing while working on a project depicting the life of tribals, residing inside a forest. His wife Iravati (Sai) and daughter Aru (Rujuta) set out on a quest to find him. Aru finds a book which tells the tale of how a princess rescues her father from a demon. She relates this fantasy to her own reality and starts searching for her father. In order to find him, she has to solve three riddles. 

You can watch the trailer here:

This fantasy thriller directed by Dnyanesh Zoting will take you to a magical world and give you a thrilling experience. If you like this genre, then there are some fantasy books that you must give a read, starting with Game of Thrones. There are chances you either know what it’s all about or have heard of the name atleast. This novel- which was made into a massively successful television series-  focuses on the war between seven kingdoms to claim the reputed ‘iron throne.’ This fascinating collection of books should be on your list. Trust us, you won’t regret it!

2. The Hunger Games

A Still Of The Hunger Games Novel
Source: Twitter

This trilogy written by Suzanne Collins, was made into Hollywood film series starring Jennifer Lawrence and proved to be a box office success. It’s a fantasy tale surrounding the central character Katniss Everdeen and how she represents her district to participate in competition for a prestigious prize. But the games are far from easy and even life threatening. Does Katniss survive?

3. Harry Potter

A Still Of Harry Potter Books
Source: Twitter

If you think you’re past the age of reading Harry Potter now, let us tell you that you’re mistaken. No one is ever too old for Harry potter. Potterheads, are we right? This hugely successful novel series written by J.K Rowling tells the tale of a wizard Harry, who sets out on a mission to kill Lord Voldemort, an evil soul who murdered his parents. The novel got made into a film series and is one of the most popular fantasy thrillers of all time.

4. Eragon

A Still Of Book Eragon
Source: Twitter

This book written by Christopher Paolini, tells the story of a farm boy named Eragon, who discovers a mysterious stone in the mountains nearby. He doesn’t realise it’s a special stone and later, it hatches a dragon. Eragon realies it was an egg and then starts the journey of Eragon nursing the dragon, which he names Sapphire.

5. The Lord of the Rings

Source: Twitter

This novel series J.R.R Tolkein is considered to be a competitor to the Harry Potter series and vice versa. It tells the tale of a young hobbit Frodo, who has been assigned the responsibility of finding a powerful ring, that can preserve mankind. This novel too was made into a blockbuster film series with Elijah Wood as the protagonist.

6. Alice's Adventures In Wonderland

A Still Of Alice's Adventures In Wonderland
Source: Twitter

This novel written by Lewis Carroll tells the story of a young girl Alice, who once visited the magical land of Underland but has no memory of it, since she’s a teenager now. Once during a garden party, she tumbles down a hole and rediscovers the land. Alice realises that it is her duty to end the reign of the Red Queen. 

7. The Golden Compass

A Still Of The Golden Compass Book
Source: ZEE5

The novel penned by Philip Pullman, tells the story of Lyra, a young orphan who journeys to the far north with her friends- the Gyptians- and an armored bear. She is on a quest to rescue her best friend and other children that have been kidnapped by beings known as Gobblers. 

So which of these books are you the most excited to read first? Tell us in the comments section below and don’t forget to watch Raakshas above! For more entertainment, check out the collection of fun Marathi films on ZEE5 here.  

ALSO

READ

YOU

MAY LIKE

Share